40 years.

Dad: I should check on my RSPs
Me: Ahh.. you know they dropped quite a bit.
Dad: Market was up today, I should still check.
Me: True. I feel like I’m going to lose what I have in there. It wasn’t even supposed to be there – it was supposed to only be for the house. I can’t take it out without penalty now.
Dad: You don’t need to worry about that. Markets fluctuate all the time. You’ll get it back.
Me: Hmmm… I guess so.
Dad: I need to worry, I will need mine in 12 years.

/end conversation.

I was just hit with an interesting realization. Dad is 55. He retires in 12 years. He STILL has 12 years to work. That’s a lot of time. I just realized that I’ve barely made a dent in my “work life”. I’m 27 this Friday. I was in school from ages of 4 to 22. Pre-school to post-graduate. 18 years of my life were in school. I’ve only been in the professional working world for 5 years. And I have another 40 years to go. Wow. Writing it down seems to make it more “reality” than thinking it or vocally expressing it.

Leave a Reply

